Juvenile Parenting Collection
In a hurry? We understand your time to browse at the library can sometimes be limited.
For times like those, check out the Juvenile Parenting Collection on the first floor of the Corvallis Library, in the Inez Campbell Children's Room. A small collection of popular titles on parenting issues like discipline, toilet training, feeding and caring for young children, and more are available for checkout. Stop by and take a look!
For more parenting titles, browse our larger parenting collection in Adult Services, on the second floor.
Photo Credit: http://www.flickr.com/photos/seandreilinger/
Start Your Search For Health Information Here!
Health and Wellness Resource Center
This fully integrated electronic database offers you instant access to authoritative health information, including full-text medical encyclopedias, health and medical journals, thousands of pamphlets, streaming videos, and health articles from more than 3,000 general interest publications covering health care, diet, and fitness topics.
Health Reference Center Academic
Created specifically for students, knowledgeable consumer health researchers and health care
professionals, Health Reference Center Academic integrates millions of articles from a wide range of full-text nursing and allied health journals, newspapers, magazines,newsletters and select consumer health information sources with full-text reference works and hundreds of health-related multimedia.
What you'll find here
Use the blue tabs above to see all of the information on parenting in this guide, including:
- New Parenting Books
- Reading suggestions - book lists and more
- Parenting books as downloadable audiobooks: listen to biographies on your iPod or other mp3 player. Parenting books as e-books.
- Parenting resources online
Read below to learn about finding parenting titles on the shelf.
Finding parenting titles on the shelf
Browsing for parenting books
If you want to browse our shelves for a parenting book, visit the 649 call number section. There you will find books on child development, child health, discipline, toilet training, and general parenting issues. You may also be interested in pregnancy (618.24), nutrition (641.56222) and baby names (929.44)
New Books
You will find newly-arrived parenting books in the New Book section on the main floor of the library. Check out the "New Arrivals" tab above to see a selection of what we have recently received at the library or what we have just placed on order.
Other places you'll find parenting books
You will sometimes also find parenting books in other sections. For example, parenting books with a spiritual focus can be found in the religion section. Other subjects where you'll often find books related to parenting in other sections are education, psychology, health, cooking (purées for baby, ideas for picky toddlers, and family dinners), sewing, crafts and decorating, outdoor living and sports, and even travel. You may even be looking for some comedic relief about parenting in the humor section.
If you can't find what you need...
If you need help finding a parenting title, just ask a librarian! We're happy to help you find what you need.
Research parenting information using library databases
Search extensive information about health and medical questions or find the latest information from Consumer Reports on baby and children's products using databases provided by the library. With your library card, you have access to a wealth of information and research online! Login directions below...
How to log in to library databases
Research children's health information, consumer product information and more from home or anywhere using your computer!
Login/library card number: the number on the back of your card (should start with 26928)
PIN: the last 4 digits of your library card number
To get your free library card, fill in the online application, then come to the library within 2 weeks and show ID that proves you live, work or study in Benton Co. You can also fill in a paper application at the library.
More information about library cards can be found here.
Consumer Reports

You can access ConsumerReports.org for free - we paid for the subscription so you don't have to!
Click here if inside the library | Click here if outside the library
Just enter your library card number to get to the website. See How to log in (below) for more information about library card numbers.
We also have the print version of the magazine in the library.
Librarian for the Parenting Collection |
Kristin Starnes |
Birth to 6 News
The Winter Newsletter is Here! Check out the Winter Early Literacy Newsletter for recommended children's books, literacy ideas, and music picks to share with young children.



Loading...
Loading...
