Music Online
Music Online allows users cross search all of our music database subscriptions by Alexander Street Press.
Classical Music Library
Classical Music Library is the world's largest multi-label database of classical music recordings
with a growing collection of 50,000-plus tracks for listening and
searching is supplemented by extensive reference materials. Recordings
include music written from the earliest times (eg Gregorian Chant) to
the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges
from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental,
and opera.
Contemporary World Music
Contemporary World Music delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent. The database
will contain important genres such as reggae, worldbeat,
neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood,
Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music -
Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and
more.
Smithsonian Global Sound
Smithsonian Global Sound is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions, including the published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels.
Music Sites of Interest
- International Music Score Library Project - approximately 85,000 scores available.
- Internet Archive / Audio Archive - Contains Public Domain and Creative Commons music of all kinds. In addition you will find other forms of audio including Old Time Radio, Audio Books, sermons, lectures and poetry.
- Musopen - "A non-profit focused on improving access and exposure to music by creating free resources and educational materials. We provide recordings, sheet music, and textbooks to the public for free, without copyright restrictions. Put simply, our mission is to set music free."
- Classical download of the week - courtesy of Alexander Street Press
- World Music download of the week - courtesy of Alexander Street Press
- Free MP3 downloads - from Amazon.com (you must be a registered Amazon user)
American Song
American Song African American Song has now been incorporated into a new database called American Song. American Song is an eclectic collection of music from Americans of diverse origins and
all walks of life, from America’s past and present. The songs are by
and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children,
pioneers, and cowboys. They touch topics as varied as Civil Rights,
political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War,
anti-war protests, and more. And the range of genres includes country,
folk, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel,
shape note singing, doo-wop, Motown, R&B, soul, funk, and others.


Loading...
