This is the "Homework Help Start Page" page of the "Homework Help" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
City of Corvallis | Español    
     AlseaBookmobileCorvallisMonroePhilomath
Search Catalog  More Options   
    Home       My Account       Library2Go      Ebooks       Audiobooks       Books      Graphic Novels       Movies/DVD       Music        Research     

        Home > Research > Topic Guide

Homework Help  

Access great resources for homework help including encyclopedias, magazine article databases and more.
Last Updated: Jan 27, 2012 URL: http://corvallis.libguides.com/homeworkhelp Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Homework Help Start Page Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is a Library Database?

What is a library database?

Library databases contain information from published works
Examples: Magazine and newspaper articles, encyclopedias and other reference books.

You can search a library database
By Keywords, Subject, Author, Magazine Title, Date, etc.

Library databases give you information for your bibliography.

You’ll find the Author, if available, Title of Article, Publication (Title of Magazine, Newspaper, or Reference Book), Publisher, Date of Publication.

Other Features of Many Library Databases:

  • Users may create individual account profiles, name and save any search in their profile, customize the language of the interface
  • Options to manage documents by e-mailing, bookmarking, downloading or printing
  • 24/7 access for research needs outside the library
  • Technology to support a diverse range of languages with on-demand translation
  • ReadSpeaker technology to listen to audio versions of articles, or download the MP3 file for listening later

Access these databases at: www.thebestlibrary.net Click on "Research" in the center navigation bar & login with your library card!

 

Library Database vs. Internet Search

What’s the difference between information found on a library database and a website? 

Library Database 

Library databases get information from
subject experts.
 

Library databases contain published works where the facts are checked. 

Library databases can help you narrow your search for the information you really need. 

Library databases are updated often. 

Library Database:

Library databases get information from subject experts. 

Library databases contain published works where the facts are checked.

Library databases can help you narrow your search for the information you really need.

Library databases are updated often.

Website:

Anyone can put information on a website, whether the information is true or not.

Not every website is checked to see if the information is correct.

Websites aren’t always organized in a way to help you find the information you need.

Websites may not be up-to-date.        


Library Database 

Website 

Library databases get information from
subject experts.
 

Anyone can put information on a website, whether the information is true or not. 

Library databases contain published works where the facts are checked. 

Not every website is checked to see if the
information is correct.
 

Library databases can help you narrow your search for the information you really need. 

Websites aren’t always organized in a way to help you find the information you need. 

Library databases are updated often. 

Websites may not be up-to-date. 

Library databases get information from
subject experts.
 

Anyone can put information on a website, whether the information is true or not. 

Library databases contain published works where the facts are checked.

Not every website is checked to see if the
information is correct.

Library databases can help you narrow your search for the information you really need.

Websites aren’t always organized in a way to help you find the information you need.

Library databases are updated often.

Websites may not be up-to-date.

Library Database

Website

Library databases get information from
subject experts.

Anyone can put information on a website, whether the information is true or not.

Library databases contain published works where the facts are checked.

Not every website is checked to see if the
information is correct.

Library databases can help you narrow your search for the information you really need.

Websites aren’t always organized in a way to help you find the information you need.

Library databases are updated often.

Websites may not be up-to-date.

 

How to Log In

Login/library card number: the number on the back of your card (should start with 26928)

PIN: the last 4 digits of your library card number

To get your free library card, fill in the online application, then come to the library within 2 weeks and show ID that proves you live, work or study in Benton Co. You can also fill in a paper application at the library.

More information about library cards can be found here.

 

Need Help?

Have a question?  We are happy to help! 

Chat with a librarian

email us

or call us at the Reference Desk 541-766-6793

or at the Youth Reference Desk 541-766-6794

Bookmark and Share
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip