What is Genealogy?

[my tree at dusk by joiseyshowaa on flickr]
Genealogy (from Greek: γενεά, genea, "descent"; and λόγος, logos, "knowledge") is the study of families and the tracing of their lineages and history. Genealogists use oral traditions, historical records, genetic analysis, and other records to obtain information about a family and to demonstrate kinship and pedigrees of its members. The results are often displayed in charts or written as narratives. [from Wikipedia]
Genealogy Links
- Benton County Genealogical Society
- BYU Family History Archive
- Census records (1790-1930) at Internet Archive
- Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System
- Cyndi's List
- Ellis Island Foundation
- FamilySearch
- FamilySearch Research wiki
- Hathi Trust Ancestry and Genealogy Collection
- National Archives and Records Administration
- National Genealogical Society
- Oregon Genealogical Society
- RootsWeb
- US GenWeb
- World GenWeb
Library Databases
(Ancestry is only available in the library)
- Ancestry User Guide [PDF]
- Ancestry Database Guide [PDF]
Corvallis Gazette-Times index, 7-1-1969 through 11-30-1999
An index of obituaries, articles, letters to the editor, and other notable news items published in the Corvallis Gazette-Times newspaper over a 30-year period.
For our newspaper collection on microfilm, see Benton County newspapers.
Our Local History page
Information on Corvallis, Benton County, Willamette Valley, Oregon
- Immigrants to America series We have access to 100+ volumes in this series through Library2Go. It covers immigrants from Germany, Italy and the UK.
Where is HeritageQuest?
Although we no longer have our subscription to HeritageQuest, we continue to subscribe to Ancestry.
If you are looking for Census records, Family Search has added records for the 1850-1930 Federal Population Census (many with full-image) as well as many state census records.
In addition Census record images are available through Internet Archive. You have to search for indexes separately.
Free Genealogy Software
DearMYRTLE's Genealogy Blog
Loading...




Loading...
